1391 Martine Ave. Scotch Plains, NJ 07076
Ph: 908-889-8800

Please note that on Saturday, December 16, the gymnasium will have limited availability due to other programs scheduled.  Please check with our member services desk at 908-889-8800 if you are looking for open gym time.  Thank you! 

2nd-8th Grade Performing Arts Production Auditions

Date: October 11, 2015Time: 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Location:  Show map JCC of Central NJ
1391 Martine Avenue
Scotch Plains, NJ
Contact: Karen MayersonEmail: jcctheater@jccnj.org

Eight years ago, Director Beth Kasper had the vision to build a Youth Theater Group at the JCC for 2nd - 8th graders.  Today our theater program is flourishing; it's a full theatrical experience with stage, costumes, lights, sound and pit band!  Open to the community.  For questions, contact us at jcctheater@jccnj.org.

We are pleased to announce that this year's show is Disney's "The Little Mermaid!"

Audition Dates

Sunday, October 11:  1:30pm – 3:30pm - or - Monday, October 12: 6pm – 8pm 
Call backs – Wednesday, October 14 6pm – 9pm

Please prepare 16 bars of music to sing (musical theater preferred).  Accompanist provided, but you may bring recorded instrumental music.

Show dates

Thursday night, February 4; Saturday night, February 6; Sunday, February 7th in the afternoon at Terrill Middle School in Scotch Plains

Synopsis

In a magical kingdom beneath the sea, the beautiful young mermaid Ariel longs to leave her ocean home to live in the world above. Based on one of Hans Christian Andersen's most beloved stories and the classic animated film, Disney's "The Little Mermaid" is a hauntingly beautiful love story for the ages. With music by eight-time Academy Award winner Alan Menken, lyrics by Howard Ashman and Glenn Slater, and a compelling book by Doug Wright, this fishy fable will capture your heart with its irresistible songs including "Under the Sea," "Kiss the Girl," and "Part of Your World." Ariel, King Triton's youngest daughter, wishes to pursue the human Prince Eric in the world above and bargains with the evil sea witch, Ursula, to trade her tail for legs. But the bargain is not what it seems and Ariel needs the help of her colorful friends Flounder the fish, Scuttle the seagull, and Sebastian the crab to restore order under the sea.
 

Below is the overall rehearsal schedule.  Please note, based on your child's role in the musical, you will have more role-specific rehearsal times within these windows.   

Sunday, October 18:  2pm – 6pm
Tuesday, October 20: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, October 25: 2:00pm – 6pm
Tuesday, October 27:  6pm – 9pm  
Sunday, November 1: 1:30pm – 6pm
Tuesday, November 3: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, November  8: 1:30pm – 6pm
Tuesday, November 10: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, November 15: TBD
Tuesday, November 17: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, November 22: TBD
Tuesday, November 24: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, November 29:  1:30pm – 6pm
Tuesday, December 1: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, December 6: 1:30pm – 6pm
Tuesday, December 8: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, December 13: 1:30pm – 6pm 
Sunday, December 20: TBD  
Tuesday, December 22: 6pm - 9 pm
Sunday, December 27 -  January 3 – winter break - times TBD  
Tuesday, January 5: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, January 10: 1:30 - 6:00 pm
Tuesday, January 12: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, January 17: 1:30pm – 6pm
Tuesday, January 19: 6pm – 9pm
Sunday,  January 24: dress rehearsals – 1:30pm – 6pm
Tuesday, January 26: rehearsals – 6pm – 9pm
Sunday, January 31: dress rehearsal 1:30 - 6 pm
February 2: dress rehearsals – 6pm – 9pm

Price: $300  Member Price: $225 
Kindly register once you have received and accepted your role in the show. 

Be sure to check our summer option for Performing Arts at our very own JCC Performing Arts Camp!


 

Top